Where to establish myself for trading and industry?

Forum rules
This forum can be viewed by the public.
<<

Don Silesius

Portrait

Post 2017.01.10 15:08

Where to establish myself for trading and industry?

Greetings fellow pilots,

Let’s start by stating the obvious: I am pretty new to the game (started late december, with no prior knowledge), and I have been accepted into EVE University last week-end. I started playing the game with the desire to be involved in the crafting and trading side of things. When I joined the Uni, I decided to get closer to the Highsec Campus, with the hope of learning more stuff about flying ships and playing with others before concentrating on industry and trading. So far I must admit things didn’t really go in that direction. On the long run, I’m very interested in industry, but while I learn more about it, I figured I would start doing station trading, to learn more about markets, various items, and also to gain ISK to eventually start industry.

I thought it would be a good idea to stay close to the Highsec Campus, so I went to the closest trade hub, Dodixie, and I haven’t really undocked since I got there... I was skeptical at first, because I kept reading that it was a bad trade hub compared to Jita, etc. But so far things haven’t been that bad, in my humble newbie opinion at least: since I started I made a net profit of 50M per day, which is far from a fortune, but it’s a result I’m not unhappy about, considering I started doing this with no prior knowledge of items or anything, just manually studying markets and making decision on my own. So far I also have been doing everything manually, no spreadsheet or anything, but if I continue I will have to get organized a bit. That said, being new makes it very hard for me to evaluate if those results are good or bad, but that is not very important for now. Learning is what is important.