Explorer Fitting

For discussion of ship fittings
Ka Hasan

Explorer Fitting

Post by Ka Hasan »

Hey all! Couple questions from a complete beginner.

Looking at fitting an Explorer. How exactly do ship mass and inertia modifier work. Does Mass * Inertia modifier give you a ship agility rating? If so, then the lower that number is, the more agile or quickly a ship can align correct? Or am I way off base?

I've had a lot of luck starting out exploring WH space with my Bebop (magnate).

Alignment speed would be my most important attribute over something like velocity, correct? I took out a Nano Fiber Structure from a low slot to add another inertial stabilizer. The ship now has an align time of 2.90.

[Magnate, Bebop]
'Stoic' Core Equalizer I
Inertial Stabilizers II
Inertial Stabilizers II
Type-D Restrained Nanofiber Structure

5MN Microwarpdrive I
Relic Analyzer I
Data Analyzer I

Prototype Cloaking Device I
Core Probe Launcher I
280mm Gallium Cannon

Small Emission Scope Sharpener I
Small Memetic Algorithm Bank I

Acolyte I x3
Hobgoblin I x5

Republic Fleet Carbonized Lead S x464
Core Scanner Probe I x16

Getting rid of the cannon, thought I'd need it for blowing up the current even pods. How does this look so far?

Currently on a long cue time for skills. Working on the short plans, lv1 and 2 stuff on the pyramid to be more useful and then scanning skills to level 4.

Also, T2 covert ops ships look heavier with bigger inertia modifiers, do their added scanning bonus/other perks make up for the slower aligning time and higher cost?
Sanctia Vitae

Re: Explorer Fitting

Post by Sanctia Vitae »

You're about what you can do to help your inertia modifier without getting too heavily penalized. Honestly, it looks like the standard exploration fit. The next step would be training the skills to improve ship mobility (which you already mentioned). For instance, my align time with this fit is 2.33.